Rename or move shared labels

Right now, shared labels cannot be renamed after they’ve been shared. This makes it hard to fix a naming mistake.

  1. A first - much welcome - quick fix would be to allow the owner of the shared label to rename it.
  2. A second - much better approach - would be to allow all shared label users to rename it.
  3. A third - ideal approach - would be to allow for local renaming and relocating of shared labels, without impacting others.

The last approach would allow users of a shared label to relocate the label locally in their gmail structure (not everyone thinks the same, the hierarchy that works for some doesn’t work for others) and to use a name that is meaningful to them.

1 Like